Day 3 – Working Out is a Mental Work Out

Working out, for me, always seems to be a mental workout too! For instance, last night, driving home from work I was so motivated to hit the gym. Funny thing happens though, once I walk through the door of my house I decide I’m hungry and I grab a snack, and always not the healthy option! I give my dog some attention, talk with my husband or son for a while, check out the day’s news on my computer and before I know it, 45 minutes or an hour has gone by and that eager, motivated feeling that I had in the car just ‘poof’, vanishes, disappears, it’s GONE! And now it’s the dreaded feeling of having to go work out which has zero appeal. I have to convince my brain and my whole self that I should go, that it’s good for me, that I’ll feel really great when I’m done, but the heavy cement in my shoes feeling along with the idea of just being a slug for the rest of the night is hard to make go away. And then, for whatever reason, just putting on my gym clothes takes longer than my entire getting ready for the day routine in the morning. And I tell myself if only I had run into the house, ignored the snacks and my dog and my family members and my computer and just quickly put on my gym clothes, I could have been out the door in 10 minutes, got in a great workout and had plenty of time to relax and do whatever I wanted to do for the rest of the night, but NO, instead I choose to torture myself, waste away my after school hours just so I can put off something that earlier in the day I had great intentions of willingly doing. So next time, I’m going to challenge myself to actually stay focused and on task and go workout and give the mental workout thing a break, at least for one day … we’ll see?

4 thoughts on “Day 3 – Working Out is a Mental Work Out

  1. This happens to me a lot of days as well. After a long day, once we are home, it’s SO hard to get motivated to go back out again. I HAVE to go to a class or the gym RIGHT from work (Change in the staff bathroom so I’m all ready!) No going home first or I’m done for! Lol.
    I have gotten back into the habit of working out at home every morning in my basement before the rest of the house is awake. I give myself that 30 minutes to myself in the early morning and then I’m done for the day. Some days I will still make it to a class after work or the gym, but I find it harder to get it in. On another note, I feel that spending time with our pets, families, and having that down time is just as important as getting a workout in, so don’t beat yourself up about it. Sometimes our gut just knows what we need in that moment. Thank you for sharing!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You have such good intentions! If it wasn’t for the fact that I have to sign up ahead of time for classes and will get charged if I cancel outside of 8 hours, I would probably let this happen every day!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment